DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Camera haywire

Buzzz5

Reactions
Hey pilots, I recently replaced the ribbon cable in my m1pro and now when the gimbal powers up it goes backwards and the camera tries to point toward the body of the drone. I promptly tore it all back down and checked all the connections. Same problem. Any ideas? I’m about ready to just order a brand new gimbal/camera/board assembly and be done with it. Anyone know what I did wrong?

Hey pilots, I recently replaced the ribbon cable in my m1pro and now when the gimbal powers up it goes backwards and the camera tries to point toward the body of the drone. I promptly tore it all back down and checked all the connections. Same problem. Any ideas? I’m about ready to just order a brand new gimbal/camera/board assembly and be done with it. Anyone know what I did wrong?
I am by no means an expert, but did you try a camera calibration ?

Why did you change the ribbon cable? Is it possible that the replacement cable has crossed connections? Have you tried another ribbon cable?
At a guess the replacement cable is not genuine DJI so it's made by someone else, could you get one from an alternative supplier or scavenge a cable from a wrecked drone?.
I don't know if it is feasible but if you have a multimeter with needle tipped probs could you compare the continuities of the connections between the original cable and the new one?

Reactions: Buzzz5
Don't waste money on a new camera and gimbal, you may still be getting bad results. Just send it to DJI and they will send you a new/refurbished drone for the cost of their repair. You can't beat that.

By the way, when I bought my first DJI drone, it was the Mavic Pro and after about 2 weeks the camera went crazy, for no apparent reason. I flew it and landed it, perfectly. Changed the battery and went to take off again and suddenly the camera was going crazy on startup, jiggling all over the place.