DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Chrome/Reflective

Ars3nal3432

Reactions
Hey everyone,

Do you think there is any added benefit to using a chrome/reflective skin on our mavics in terms of increasing VLOS and as a bird deterrent? I may be way off here and I have never used s skin before. I'm just thinking maybe the chrome will reflect the sun and act as a natural "strobe" and maybe that effect will also deter birds.

Reactions: Motorcycle Rider
Do you think there is any added benefit to using a chrome/reflective skin on our mavics in terms of increasing VLOS and as a bird deterrent? I may be way off here and I have never used s skin before. I'm just thinking maybe the chrome will reflect the sun and act as a natural "strobe" and maybe that effect will also deter birds.
Metallic foil will block GPS signal if it's covering the GPS antenna

Let's just say for argument's sake there was a material that didn't interfere with GPS and was reflective. Would it help with VLOS and repelling birds?

Let's just say for argument's sake there was a material that didn't interfere with GPS and was reflective. Would it help with VLOS and repelling birds?
Would probably make it harder to see honestly. Kinda like how they use mirrors on skyscrapers to try to make them blend in. Some bright orange skin would probably be the best for visibility.

It might help you spot the drone at a distance .. but only when the sun shone at an angle that reflected straight back to you.
Whether it repelled birds or not is impossible to say.

Last edited:
Any natural colour will blend in depending on the background. So for argument you use orange predominantly it will show against say trees and green foliage but the next day you are flying at a beach with sand dunes it will blend in.
so How about a predominant colour for the body and a fluorescent colour for the legs/arms.