DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Development: USB-Charging Cable for Drone-Battery

I would be interested in either a purchase or a build (if you are still thinking of releasing the designs). I have been looking for a long time for something to take backpacking. I normally carry a small solar panel and a power bank, but like you have mentioned many times, it is no good for charging the Mavic Air 2.
It was mentioned before, the only other option I have is carrying my Goal Zero 100AC, but that thing is a brick I would not enjoy carrying on my back for days on end. (since it also requires the AC adapter from DJI).

I would be happy to look over the designs and offer any suggestions I come up with. I am an Electrical Engineer, not the kind that has much to do with consumer devices unfortunately. I know a couple of guys at work that do love this sort of thing, one of them has several patents to his name, they would be happy to provide some Engineering as well.

Getting this certified for direct sale to consumers would be a nightmare, I do unfortunately have experience with compliance to government regulations (I work for an electric utility). The big players self certify, for the same reasons mentioned, the cost can be outrageous.

If direct sale is something you still want to look into, perhaps i could help. My company works with an electronics manufacturer here in Beaverton, OR. They make all sorts of stuff like this for us, they could either help you certify compliance, or could build the devices for you.

I did discover these on Amazon, it appears they allow charging an Air 2 or 2s battery from USB, so long as your power bank is big enough.

USB charger FAQs | CMD

Looks like the standard is more like 2.5W but it can go up from there. I suspect any public places will support the minimum to be the most compatible.

Help me with the math on 3500mAh...