DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

DJI Aeroscope Scanner

I'm not sure where you're going with this... but I'll take the bait - to a point ;)

Taken from the Kismet Wireless site:

"Kismet is a wireless network detector, sniffer, and intrusion detection system."

That question is beyond the scope of a dji drone forum mate...

Okay, that is fair! I am no expert in Kismet but I get the gist. Let us look more closely at the analogy which I believe actually hurts not helps aeroscope.

GOOGLE drove around "sniffing" wireless networks and got into big trouble:

Between 2007 and 2010, Google equipped its Street View cars with Wi-Fi antennas and software that collected data transmitted by Wi-Fi networks in nearby homes and businesses, which included both network identifying information and so-called payload data transmitted over unencrypted Wi-Fi networks. The company acknowledged in May 2010 that it had inadvertently collected some personal data from unencrypted networks and apologized for it. The company also settled for $7 million with 37 U.S. states and the District of Columbia over its unauthorized collection of personal data transmitted over Wi-Fi networks. The story from WIRED is linked below.

An Intentional Mistake: The Anatomy of Google's Wi-Fi Sniffing Debacle

1542071113679.png

Joffe v Google Inc. 746 F.3d 920 (9th Cir. 2013)

FindLaw's United States Ninth Circuit case and opinions.