DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Drone Control Options

stevearends

Reactions
I am new to the drone world - only a few weeks in. However, I tend to obsess a bit when I find new endeavors, so I am investing considerable analytical time thinking things through. At this point, I think drones will really really assist in our business - mainly building inspections and damage documentation. Here is where I am at:
  1. Studied and passed the 107
  2. Purchased Air 2S Fly More with Smart Controller 4 weeks ago
  3. Ordered Mini 3 Pro Fly More with RC Controller and it is arriving Monday (supposedly)
  4. Bought an RC Pro controller, mostly for range because I live on 35 Acres in the CO mountains and I'd like to be less worried about losing my aircraft(s)
  5. In general, I am loving the experience of learning how to fly and am blown away with the technology and camera in the Air 2S
And, I have been "thinking" about Mavic 3 too, especially with the new firmware.

However . . . . ., and in the meantime . . . .

In my business, inspections via drone would be able to be done fairly quickly with the below solutions (I know there are more I haven't discovered yet), and this will likely take me a year (or more) to demo and test and use in our actual business before I really "know" what works best, all things considered. I have been researching various 3D, automated flight and AI softwares and there are very specific hardware requirements for the various solutions - basically the tail would wag the dog in the requirements for the drone and controller -example:

1. Loveland Innovations IMGING - requires either Phantom Pro 4, Mavic 2 Pro, Zoom or Enterprise and RC1 with IOS screen - they do not support ANY of the DJI controllers except RC1. And, no Tripltek - IOS device ONLY.
2. House Scan by Skydio obviously requires Skydio, and in this case, I go back to square 1