DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Exposure Discrepancy - DNG Still Images

That doesn't match my experiences. I have been shooting raw in my Nikons for many years. Nikon's raw format is a proprietary format NEF, which is not TIFF. It is extraordinarily versatile having at least 1.5 stops more dynamic range than any TIFF created from it. The Adobe DNG converter creates a DNG file with the same amount of flexibility. Both when you compare them with a TIFF with it's broadest luminosity range are much better. Once you transcode to TIFF, that is all lost. That is why raw converters are made, to get a TIFF which has the RAW or DNG reduced to look good in a TIFF with it's limits.

We are going no place with this. Try it for yourself with a good raw image from a newer Canon or Nikon and see for yourself.

I'm still having exposure discrepancy issues, which do NOT occur with my Canon DSLR, or high end Panasonic compact. I typically shoot at Golden Hour, and bracket my exposures, erring slightly under to avoid blown out HL's. I process all stills in Adobe Raw Reader via Bridge. The thumbnails of my land cams are always pretty consistent with what I see on the camera screen and the same images in Bridge. But my M2P stills appear multiple stops darker in Bridge/Raw Reader than they do on the Smart Controller.

I honestly feel there's a mismatch from the M2P images that does NOT occur with the land cams. Is there a feature to adjust/calibrate the Smart Controller Screen? They are advertised as having bright screens, & highly visible in direct sun. So perhaps what I'm seeing on the SC is displayed with higher luminance or Gamma than what's actually captured. (And yes, I do understand that the DNG is a Digital Negative, and has a fews stops leeway) But as mentioned, there are far fewer surprises with the land cams.