DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

First Post: Too high contrast (?) in snow using ND32 filter.

david.saltriver

Reactions
Hi all,

I'm a newbie in drone filming and took my Mavic Pro Platinum out in the snow to film us. I ended up with some (in my eyes) good material, but some scenes (especially when filmed against the sun) where lacking details.
Somewhere in a video I saw that one should select D-Log as color mode to preserve all details. However, I used D-Cinelike.

Is that my (only) mistake? Or do you have other suggestions.
I used an ND32 filter with automatic camera settings (I find it too hard to adjust the settings for every shot, and the kids don't like standing around), I think the drone went for something like 1/100 - 1/200 shutter speed. Don't remember the ISO.

My Questions:

• Would using D-Log (and enriching the colors later in i.e. DaVinci Resolve editor) prevented the loss of detail?
  • Is there any chance to get some detail back in DaVinci Resolve?
  • Is there a way to check the used Camera-Settings (per frame) in the video file later on? Or from any logs?
  • I (accidentally) filmed with 24fps (NTSC). Somewhere I read that on European hardware that can lead to stutter during pans (which I see). Is there any way to correct that?
Thank you for reading!

I tried to make a sample video to show the lack of detail. In some other Scenes it's even worse. The whole face is basically a pink circle without eyes.

Best,
David

Last edited:
Hi all,

I'm a newbie in drone filming and took my Mavic Pro Platinum out in the snow to film us. I ended up with some (in my eyes) good material, but some scenes (especially when filmed against the sun) where lacking details.
Somewhere in a video I saw that one should select D-Log as color mode to preserve all details. However, I used D-Cinelike.

Is that my (only) mistake? Or do you have other suggestions.