DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Friend loaned me his Mavic Air, is the small remote cable necessary?

Benlavnz

Reactions
Hi all,

My friend and i are off on a motorcycle trip in a few weeks and he bought the drone and never used it. He has lent it to me to do the footage as i am the resident tech geek.

He uses an iphone. I have zero experience with drones, but i have one question...

The small cable from the remote to the iphone, is this necessary for operating the drone? Im on android and need a usb c connection which i can buy tomorrow, but do i need to? The unit is completely flat so i have some charging to do before figuring out if there is a bluetooth connection possible.

TIA

Ben

I'm new to all this as well, with a S9+ phone, yes a cable is required to run everything going on in the DJI fly app, while using the drone. It will also charge the phone so it won't go dead. As far as I know, blue tooth isn't used at all.

Reactions: Benlavnz
Strictly speaking the cable may not be needed every time but in certain circumstances it IS NEEDED. Besides there are settings which you may wish to change and you will be UNABLE to change ANY settings with out the phone being connected to the controller via such a cable.
I would have thought your friend should have the appropriate cable.
Make sure everything works BEFORE you leave.
I would also suggest you read the manual before you leave and put a copy on your phone, these things a quite complicated and their behaviours nay catch you out. You really shoiuld get some practice flying in, in a safe wide open space, before you leave. I strongly suggest you work your way through the RTH behaviours at least.

Reactions: Benlavnz
The small cable from the remote to the iphone, is this necessary for operating the drone? Im on android and need a usb c connection which i can buy tomorrow, but do i need to?
Yes, you need a cable to connect the phone or tablet with the controller.