DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Gimbal Error Code 40003 - Gimbal motor overload or code 40002 - Gimbal jammed.... Cause and how I fixed mine.

Talkenrain

Reactions
Greetings, this is my first real contribution to this forum. Hopefully it's helpful to others as I could find little info for my particular problem. I'm new to the MA2 but not new to drones. I've been flying them on and off for a while and have gotten reasonable good at it. So when I received the MA2 I thought it's pretty much like my previous DJI drones. I started taking it everywhere and using it just about every day. I'd typically launch from my landing pad unless it's a last minute thought, i'd say 70% of the time. the other 30% I'd search for a clean patch of pavement just to stay clear of dust in the drone (although it's never been an issue in the past). I'd typically use a ND8 or 16 filter for daylight shots and go without a filter when the light level is not so bright (habits from previous drones with and without camera settings controls). Here is where my problems began with the MA2. If you've ever changed a filter on the MA2, you know the mount is different. it's a short twist to remove and install filters inside 4 guides holes of the camera housing. The first time I removed the factory ring to install a filter is when I discovered the ring actually has no protective glass, it just more or less is a beauty ring to make the camera look complete (so I thought). Because I usually fly with a filter, i didn't think much of the ring, threw it in my bag. Whenever I needed a filter I'd put one on but when I didn't, i wouldn't bother to install the empty ring...