DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Gimbal in high wind

spamgnome

Reactions
Was flying today in a pretty stiff wind on the ground, and was at 200'. The MA flew fine even into the wind, BUT at full throttle, I noted that the horizon was quite tilted. I was flying sideways, btw. If I slowed down, things would settle down. My guess is that I hit the travel limit of the gimbal. If the wind was, say 15, and I was traveling 17, that means that the little guy was going 32 air speed...and tilted mightily to achieve that.
I'm pretty new to the MA and droning altogether. Does my thinking sound right?

Reactions: Larryb007
Bumping my own thread :) My hope was to get some feedback from the experts in the forum on whether this is "normal / expected" behavior, or if there is something defective with the drone.
I had a similar post on this same issue a few weeks ago, but hadn't seen the issue since...until now.

To view this content we will need your consent to set third party cookies.
For more detailed information, see our cookies page.

Was flying today in a pretty stiff wind on the ground, and was at 200'. The MA flew fine even into the wind, BUT at full throttle, I noted that the horizon was quite tilted. I was flying sideways, btw. If I slowed down, things would settle down. My guess is that I hit the travel limit of the gimbal. If the wind was, say 15, and I was traveling 17, that means that the little guy was going 32 air speed...and tilted mightily to achieve that.
I'm pretty new to the MA and droning altogether. Does my thinking sound right?

First, let's make sure we've got the right terminology.

If the wind was 15, and you were traveling through the air (airspeed) at 17 (with the wind), your ground speed would be 32. If you were flying into the wind, your ground speed would only be 2.

How much the MA tilts in the direction of flight is a function of AIR speed, NOT GROUND speed.