DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Hidden information in recorded video on Air2s (and maybe others)

Firejay27

Premium Pilot
Reactions
This may be new to some and for others you may say .. yeah I knew all about that. Anyway, I have two Synology NAS units that I use to backup my photos and video and I thought just for grins I would try using the Synology video station. When I started playing back my videos though there was all this data on the bottom of the screen and I thought I had turned on some feature of the drone that I didn't realize existed and ruined my footage. Come to find out DJI is capturing a lot of information when you record video and stuffing it into the subtitle track data. I'm finding this to be super helpful information as it contains things like shutter speed, focal length, iso, altitude and some other items. Great for when you go back and want to know what settings you had used on a video or how high you were flying when you got that perfect shot. I attached an example of the information here as well as what it looks like in the Synology Video app. Not sure if you can overlay the same information by using the subtitles information in Adobe or DaVinci but it's there.

Sub2.JPGSub1.JPG

Yep, that's the subtitles. It works by providing an SRT file in the same folder as your MP4/MOV files, with the same name.
It is pretty cool, but I never tried to import it into Davinci Resolve, although I think it is possible, for my purpose, drone videos, I don't really need it.
I actually even have it disabled in the drone's settings, from the Camera Settings you can turn this on and off.

Reactions: Brojon
@Firejay27
You may indeed have, in the App, switched on the recording of "subtitles" when shooting video.
I am pretty certain I have see the option in the Fly app but can't remember in which section of the control menus it was. I don't have a phone/drone to hand to check.