DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Input on video quality: filters, shutter, etc.

thebigbaddan

Reactions
I'd like to get some input on this video:

What should I adjust to get better video quality? (This is Mavic Air footage...)

I'm using an ND32 filter. Should I ditch the filter and just use the stock lens and auto settings, since I don't know what I'm doing? I thought the filter would really help with a bright environment like this with light reflecting off the snow.

I'd like to get some input on this video:

What should I adjust to get better video quality? (This is Mavic Air footage...)

I'm using an ND32 filter. Should I ditch the filter and just use the stock lens and auto settings, since I don't know what I'm doing? I thought the filter would really help with a bright environment like this with light reflecting off the snow.

Being a beginner myself, and after watching tons of youtube videos, this is what I have found;
The ND filters (described as being sunglasses for your lens), helps with the brightness, so you can bring your shutter speed down.
This should be about double your frame rate. So if your shooting 1080p at 30fps, your shutter speed should be 1/60. For 24 or 25fps it should be about 1/50.
If you are shooting towards the sun, like in some of your shots in the video, you could invest in ND filters that also come with a polariser or /PL (E.g. ND32/PL), this should reduce the sun glare.
I got the PGYTECH ones from amazon, about £58. A 4 Pack, ND4/PL, ND8/PL, ND16/PL and ND32/PL.

Now as for camera setting....
If you are not familiar with post editing software, do not listen to every single youtube video that says "Shoot in D-Cinelike", I've not liked 99% of my video I have shot like that.
This weekend, I shot in "Normal" colour mode, and the video came out great.