DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Interference & compass recalibration

Moon

Reactions
I am new to drone flying and really enjoying flying the MA. It has been great to get some aerial footage & photos and to see the world from a different view point.

It has been an eye opener at just how much environmental factors can interfere with the drone which other newbies might also need to consider when planning on where to fly. I know that if I fly in my back garden I get interference from the Wi-Fi but not enough to be an issue.

So far I have typically been flying at local parks, mid week so hardly anyone around and following the distances in the drone code.

At one park I notice that the compass on the MA has to be recalibrated every time I go there and this procedure doesn't happen anywhere else. I think that although I am a good 120m away from a road or house I am in the middle of the park where there are metal rugby posts about 20m away from my take off point which must be enough to throw out the compass? The drone flies OK once it has been recalibrated and no issues with interference once flying or landing, even when going in close proximity to the posts.

Yesterday I took my MA to another local park and stood in the middle of the football fields. When the drone went up to about 2m high the "strong aircraft interference" error popped up. If I took it higher (6-7m) then the video feed dropped out and it lost connection. After resetting the MA and the controller I tried it again and same happened. I was able to fly it under 2m high with no issues but anything above that and the video feed would drop before aircraft disconnection. I wondered what was causing the interference and noticed that there were two large mobile phone masts in the trees about 80m away. I had no idea that the masts would create such disturbance. No wonder people don't want them building near homes!