DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

landing pad missed by drone.

R M Ford

Reactions
I am new at flying drones. I have a whole 45 minutes of flight time logged so far. LOL. When I signal the drone to RTH. it does. But, It always lands one to two feet from the landing pad it took off from. Is there something I can do to address this?

I am new at flying drones. I have a whole 45 minutes of flight time logged so far. LOL. When I signal the drone to RTH. it does. But, It always lands one to two feet from the landing pad it took off from. Is there something I can do to address this?

Fly it onto the landing pad manually. It's a basic flight skill you need to have. You don't want to depend on RTH to do your landings.

EDIT: Not applicable to Mini 3 Pro.
(You may not be climbing straight up after takeoff and hovering long enough for the drone to take the photos it
needs.)

Last edited:
That's completely normal and the kind of accuracy you can expect from consumer grade GPS.
If you want to let the drone RTH and land itself, you need to make sure the area is clear of obstructions and suitable for an autolanding.
Otherwise you can manually land anywhere you choose to.

Fly it onto the landing pad manually. It's a basic flight skill you need to have. You don't want to depend on RTH to do your landings.

(You may not be climbing straight up after takeoff and hovering long enough for the drone to take the photos it needs.)
Thanks for the info.!

(You may not be climbing straight up after takeoff and hovering long enough for the drone to take the photos it needs.)
Does the Mini 3 have the Precision Landing feature that needs this?
There's no mention of it in the latest manual.

That is normal on the Mini 3 Pro. Mine missed the spot once for about 12FT. Pretty bad... Not surprise me. As @Meta4 mentioned, the mini 3 lacks of precision landing.