DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Litchi for smoother waypoints ?

mr.jipi_

Reactions
(sorry if you see double, my previous post seems to have been deleted).

Coming from the 3DR Solo drone, I am new to the DJI world with my Mavic 2 Pro and I don't know much about Litchi.

I’m trying to achieve the following for a specific shoot and I'm thinking Litchi might be able to help me where DJI GO failed.

My mission from beginning to end is roughly a 2 km course, deep in nature, that ends with a complet stop. I’m trying to achieve this in 4min, all in a smooth (cinematic) single sequence for a Music Video. In the best scenario, there are 4 different angles/shot I would need to get smoothly in the same sequence in between Start and Finish.

Because it is very hard to achieve a flawless 4 min flight over 2 km flawlessly (for me at least), I was hoping to use the DJI GO Waypoint's mode. It does 90% of the job but as you know, the transition are not very smooth. My biggest issue with it for this project has been the rough “stop” (brakes) at the end… I need the camera to very smoothly stop and stay still (hoover) for 30 seconds at the end of the music video. And with Waypoint, It is not a smooth stop like you can achieve manually or with the Cinematic mode.

So bottom line: Would Litchi allow me to achieve a smoother waypoint experience or at least a single point A to point B with a very smooth/gradual stop?

Thank you very much for your help.

I’m only a couple months with Litchi, but I would attempt a Waypoint in Litchi that is programmed to slow the drone down to an optimal speed so that it stops smoothly. Also, for the effect you’re seeking, would a Point of Interest near the horizon work for you? Then the smooth stop would keep the camera pointed straight ahead in the distance.

WP1 - Cruising speed for your optimal 2km shot
WP2 - Reduced speed towards WP3
WP3 -