DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

"Live Mission Recording" and waypoint-specific camera angles

carteriii

Reactions
I am new to the Mavic 3T and waypoint missions and despite searching here and running some tests myself, I could use some clarification on how/when the waypoint specific gimbal pitch is applied. To the best of my knowledge is there is no documentation on the kinds of details I am asking, and the Mavic 3E/3T user manual (I downloaded v1.4) only gives a superficial introduction to the various features.
I am looking for confirmation of my current understanding and then for those of you with experience (that I clearly don't have) to offer some "best practices". My intent was to use the "Live Mission Recording" to have the drone fly to specific positions AND camera angles, but this does not seem possible without a lot of manual effort.

For context, in doing my own tests, I first learned that when creating a "Live Mission Recording", simply pressing C1 to add a new waypoint does NOT set any yaw or gimbal pitch at the waypoint. For the purpose of inspecting a specific location or building, the C1 waypoint by itself seems to lack a lot of value. Instead, to capture a specific camera angle during "Live Mission Recording", it seems the best practice is to always take a picture which creates a waypoint AND simultaneously creates an action of "Fixed Angle Shot". Unfortunately this still does not set the yaw or gimbal pitch of the waypoint itself.

In fact, the waypoint-specific gimbal pitch cannot even be set until/unless I set the global "Gimbal Control" to "For Each Waypoint" after flying the "Live Mission Recording" in order to enable the waypoint-specific gimbal control.

gimbal-control-for-each-waypoint.jpg