DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Looking at adding a mavic to my fleet, but I've got some questions

mm1992

Reactions
Long story short is I'm a part 107 pilot for my company. Currently I fly a Yuneec Typhoon H, and its served me very well for what the current mission is - going out and documenting construction progress whenever and wherever. Its great when I've got to get out on a day with super high winds (I've had it sit through 25 mph winds to film a crane lift) but I do see its shortcomings - its big (gotta fedex it when I travel), the camera isn't the best, and it doesn't support aftermarket applications with its integrated tablet system. And that last point is the big one bringing me here.

I've been told there is now a push to looking into getting a proper aerial surveying setup. Being able to generate our own aerial photography for use in design would be useful. We've already done that to an extent with some aerial photos, but being able to make an orthomosaic and have it georeferenced would be a big step up (along with the possibilities of the point clouds and 3D models). Which led me to Pix4D which seems to be the industry leader. Which then led me here, as DJI seems to be the core consumer for it. And after looking into it a bit, I've got some questions on the platform before I hand my boss a proposal on what this would require and what it could do.

1) As far as being sized for carry on baggage, the mavic is my best bet, right? I basically only fly southwest, and would need to meet their size of 10x24x16. It would also have to be a SKB or pelican type case. From looking through the case offerings, it seems that the mavic would be able to do this this with ease, but the phantom would not. If I've got to fly to a job site I'd greatly prefer something I can take with me instead of coordinating fedex shipping times and all that.