DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Looking to buy a Mavic Air 2 and get A2. What does 2022 mean for me? Confused.com

Legendoforin

Reactions
Hi all. I used to be a professional photographer and have been wanting to get into drone flight for a long time and recently the itch has become too hard to ignore. So I have decided on a Mavic Air 2. This will be my first drone (outside of kids toys) and I feel it's a happy balance for me. I live in a beautiful historic town so once I am at one with the drone I would really love to get A2 to allow me to fly over more populated parts where I live.

So I was ready to pull the trigger finally and then read about the changes coming in 2022. I will be honest I am finding it hard to understand. Is there a layman's English version of what changes will be happening? I have read a few threads but seem none the wiser really.

What would this mean for me and the Mavic Air 2 either with or without the A2 certification? Will my drone or the A2 certification be somehow obsolete?

Kind regards

Rich

@Legendoforin any drone over 250g will be classed as a legacy drone from the end of 2022 there are currently no C rated drones available at the moment ,which with the A2 C of C will allow reduced separation distances and less restrictions from the end of 2022 ,also even if the drone is C,rated you will need the A2 C of C to be able to fly it from the first of January 2023 in the A2 category anyway

Reactions: Legendoforin
@Legendoforin any drone over 250g will be classed as a legacy drone from the end of 2022 there are currently no C rated drones available at the moment ,which with the A2 C of C will allow reduced separation distances and less restrictions from the end of 2022 ,also even if the drone is C,rated you will need the A2 C of C to be able to fly it from the first of January 2023 in the A2 category anyway
Thank you. A few points if I may.....