DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Loss Prevention

Jeff A

Well Worn Member
Reactions
It is really a sad thing to read about fellow members here loosing their drones for any reason but particularly if the Drone Pilot has done everything right and has an equipment failure. As a former Professional Pilot, I realize that mechanical or electrical devices can and do fail. Much of my Pilot training in the past had dealt with mechanical failures and how to deal with them. We have a lot of redundancy in modern aircraft design. Maybe not so much when it comes to our Drones. If certain parts fail, such as motors or props, your drone is pretty much doomed.

I have been amazed how some of our members have developed the ability to read the Flight Logs and determine the cause of a crash. They do us a great service.

Finally, my question. :) Let's just take one example that I saw recently where a M2 Drone had a motor seize up and cause the Drone to crash. Would it be possible to develop an addition to an Inspection Program where by The Flight Logs could be viewed and analyzed to see an event such as this coming and take appropriate action? My thought is in this one case, maybe there were signs that this motor was telling us that trouble was in our future. The beauty of this approach is that there is no tear down required, just reading the logs.

So, for the Log Readers among us, is anything like this remotely (no pun intended) possible? Are there other things besides the example that I used that might be seen under the area of Preventative Maintenance?

air frame maintenance, although this subject may seems to be a source of amusement to many ,it is a very important part of drone ownership,it is also a way of ensuring as much as is humanly possible that your drone is airworthy