DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Mavic 2 Pro 4K video Questions

Jeffrey Journey

Reactions
Hello,

I am a relative novice to this hobby and to level set I am going from a spark to a Mavic 2 Pro so it's quite a jump for me. My questions center around the 4K video capability of the Mavic 2 Pro which is all new to me.

Question-1
When I attempt to download my captured 4K video to my iPad mini4 I get a message stating something like I have to record my video in 1K in order to download to the iPad. Yes I know 4K has more resolution and subsequently larger files compared to 1080 (1K) video but video data is video data. I could understand the iPad (or the DJI Go4 app) complaining about not being able to play the 4K video but to fail to download it is perplexing to me.

Question-2
As I have no experience with 4K video I am not having any success when attempting to play the video from my micro SD card on my windows 7 laptop. Appears that quick time and or the windows media player can't play the 4K video. If this is indeed true then what applications do you folks use in order to play your 4K videos?

Thanks,
Jeff

Welcome to the world of 4K video! As for your first question, this is a limitation that Apple imposes on iPads and unfortunately there’s not much you can do about it. As for the second, working with relatively high bit-rate video like those that come off of the Mavic 2 are very tough on computer hardware. For smooth playback, you need beefy specs on your computer (especially the graphics card) and I’m guessing that since your computer is running Windows 7, it’s probably at least a few years old and may be challenged getting this to work well. Finally, reading off the SD card is problematic because most of these cards can’t deliver the data fast enough for smooth playback.. You need to copy the files to an internal hard drive (preferably an SSD) or a fast external hard drive connected at least with USB 3.