DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Mini 3 Pro restrictions

dimichb

Reactions
Hi. I am a newbie to Mini series drone. I have used previously Mavic Air and Mavic Air 2 drone and quite familiar with zone restrictions. I have purchased Mini 3, thinking that I would be able to by pass the majority of restrictions as this drone is less than 250g. But today was my first attempt to flight it at a lower altitude by Buttonville airport, and drone would not take off. I checked with Nav Drone software provided by Nav Canada, and I am allowed to fly in the airspace. Also my account is verified with DJI, and I have flown other DJI drones in USA, but DJI and Canada regulations always seem to give me problems. Any suggestions? All input is really appreciated. Also I do have my drone license in Canada as well, just in case, that may be an issue.

You need authorisation when flying in the blue area.
Grey is restricted to 60 m AGL and red should be completely out of limits as far as DJI Geo zoning is concerned.

1669704332611.png

Even if you are legally allowed to fly there without restrictions (which I don't know but highly doubt), DJI is limiting drones precautionary. Normally, upon take off you should be able to authorise with data connection enabled for some parts.

Reactions: Aerophile
I have always found it better to do the geozone unlock procedure from home and often do a custom unlock, though that hasn't been 100% fool-proof either. As someone said above you need authorization from the Canadiian authority which you provide as proof for unlocking. Again, IMO it's best done from the convenience of home where you know you will have adequate wifi.

Reactions: globetrotterdrone