DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

MPP strange behaving gimbal

Mark1988

Reactions
Hello all,

My name is Mark and since one month I'm in the possession of a Mavic Pro Platinum. Before the Mavic I had a Spark and a Phantom 3. The Mavic really stands out in everything, filming, photos, flight time and range! Unfortunately since one week I have a strange behaving gimbal. During flight, or already at start up, I get a shaking video image. Also I can hear the gimbal make a buzzing noise sometimes. Below is a list with things I already tried:

1. Gimbal & IMU calibration. This seems to temporarily fix the issue.
2. Reinstall or downgrade firmware. The first time this worked for a few days and I thought everything was solved.
3. I've checked the gimbal clearance and all cables/wires going to the gimbal, they seem fine.
4. Whenever the gimbal makes the buzzing noise, when I gently tap it, it stops. Quite often after startup I gently shake the drone a bit and then I can fly, sometimes a whole battery without issues, sometimes after 5/10 minutes the gimbal starts shaking. Also an error message occurs then ''Gimbal shaking error''.

I've read on many fora that the gimbal is a weak point in the Mavic drone. Also sending it to DJI can lead to a lot of headache. I've checked the serial number and the drone is manufactured in june 2018, warranty shouldn't be an issue. Also the store where I bought it gave me warranty and they already told me that I can contact DJI for further steps in solving the issue. However, I'm more trying to fix the issue myself, as I think it is a software issue. Perhaps some of you have some good ideas in fixing the drone!

Thanks already for your input and best,

Mark

Update: the gimbal stopped working now, it makes a screeching noise at start up and won't pass the start up procedure. Sending it in to DJI!