DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

ND Filter Exposure Setup etc?

Citizen Flier

Reactions
I'm new to drone photo/video (but experienced photographer) I have a set of PolarPro ND filters arriving today. I saw what appeared to be an excellent video which stated that images would be very soft with lens wide open of stopped down to F11. So with correct shutter settings, it seems like around F5.6 is best (?) It was also suggested to use manual exposure, and leave ISO at 100. So how do you evaluate which ND filter to use if light conditions might change, or you have a range of light/dark subjects? (perhaps you're shooting a shoreline that has a white sand beach, dark water, and a lush dark green forest inland) Do most of you shoot auto or manual exp? If shooting manual exposure I'm guessing the right knob (on Smart Controller) can still adjust aperture?

I could use a light meter to measure ambient, or point the drone at the subject area before takeoff, then choose a likely ND Filter? I'm guessing that I'll probably be using the same filter often, and switching aperture on the fly? I try to limit shooting to early AM / late evening.

Thanks for your expert help!

Rule of thumb is easier here. Mavic 2 pro looses sharpness fast as you close down aperture, so, you wanna be above 5.6, ideally. Best cinematic feel would be with shutter twice the frame rate - means you want to be near 1/60 shutter if you set 4k30 mode. It is not critical in my opinion for shutter not to remain exactly at 1/60, it is not very noticeable if it deviates, say, from 1/50 to 1/90 at selected aperture. So, you just need either nd8 or nd16 to get closer to that preferred shutter speed if you set A mode, which i prefer.