DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

New Pilot Checks

born2drone

Reactions
Born2Drone Captains Log 19th Dec 2017
Hi fellow DJI 4 Mavic Pro Pilots (or MavicPilots, from a middle aged 50 something man with some flying experience);
First off, I love flying...and flying drones for fun;
This is flight school day 2...and I’m a new pilot from Queensland Australia with my first drone flight yesterday;
I bought the DJI 4 Mavic Pro Fly more Combo set, and want to give some tips to new comers on what I found so far as this will be short, well shortish but to the point.
Tip 1: STUDY STUDY STUDY all the YouTube Videos you can find on your model drone;
This will prepare you for what you are about to do...and help you setup your drone and hopefully prevent you from smashing your prized possession on the first day or any other day;
Tip 2: Before rushing home from the shop, slapping in a battery and taking to the skies...beware all countries have laws, and Australia shows these on the CASA (Civil Aviation Safety Authority) website; MAKE SURE YOU UNDERSTAND THE RULES.
BASIC RULES: Below 120m in height but at least 30m away from people and not within 5.5km from helicopter landing zones (turns out I live slam in the middle of 3 of these zones for Hospital and Search and Rescue etc. I can fly in my area but I plan and check via the CASA app. Laws may also apply in other cities, national parks or public spaces so do your homework; Ignorance is no excuse to the law.
Tip 3: As per tip 2, you are NOT ALLOWED TO FLY AT NIGHT period! Ignorance is no excuse to the law;
Tip 4: You CANNOT FLY OVER CROWDS (like Sports events etc.) or to view emergency situations like fire or accidents!