DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Not your typical "crooked" gimbal posting...

talonhead

Reactions
Hey everyone. First posting here. However, I've been a quad pilot (racing and conventional) for about 7 years.

To the point, my Mavic Air2S gimbal at power off is not straight. Not even close. It seems "weighted" to swing down and to the far right. I've had two other Mavics in the past...both of which did not possess this trait. Maybe this is normal on some Mavics, and I just never saw it...I have no clue.

I'll add that this is a new 2S. Approx 6 crash-free flights to date. it's been like this since being removed from its box.

Can others chime in and let me know if this is something to worry about, or not. But most importantly, while powered up, it straightens up as it should. Horizons are just fine, and tilt operates as it should. I know I'm being picky here, but I call it being proactive.

See pic for a better understanding.

Thanks all! Seems like a great forum to share thoughts and get help.

Attachments

• 2sGimbal.jpeg
    2sGimbal.jpeg
    509.7 KB · Views: 24
Any rough landings? Any attempted power on with gimbal protector in place?
While powered off mine can be moved very gently and does not return to straight and level automatically. It remains mostly at the last gentle movement position. Power on is always fine.

Reactions: rjwmorrell
If you slowly rotate the gimbal (while power is off, better yet no battery installed) on each of the 3 axis, do you get any resistance or grinding feel?

The gimbal motors are only active when powered on and the camera may move freely at any direction based on touching it or gravity/etc. But debris in between the joints or motors can have some resistance in one way or another especially if you have been encountering gimbal overload errors.

Reactions: barrybcar