DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Side by Side comparison - filming at night with and without the Freewell Clear-Night filter

Coskier

Reactions
Still very new to video, but I decided to do a side by side comparison of the Freewell Clear-Night Filter ($20 on Amazon). Mind you, I have not used a lot of filters in my photography - mostly circular polarizers and one special one that allowed me to take pictures of the glassblowing process. Certainly not ND filters (though I have a set and need to learn how to use them). On top of that, I am still learning how to edit video (LumaFusion on an iPad Pro). But in case anyone had been considering the Freewell Clear-Night filter, I thought I would post this comparison. No audio, just 20 seconds or so of side by side footage to see what the difference is. These are straight out of the drone, no LUT has been applied. I shot on Auto, and I haven't figured out how to retrieve what the settings were that it chose. Maybe next time I'll do a screen capture or record on the SC while I am trying this.

Anyhow, here you go:

Last edited by a moderator:
Coskier, if your shooting on full-auto included AWB (auto white-balance), the test is not valid. Color correction is part of what a night filter does, so the two runs should be done with the same manually-set WB to see the difference.

Also, what are you hoping to achieve? Because light pollution filters are generally designed to help see stars better when there is light pollution of the frequencies common in urban environments. But if you're pointing your camera down at the city, you're just messing around with the city light a bit without really affecting it much except changing the color temp of the lights (that you will still see).

Also in general, the goal is to shoot outside the city, but use such a filter to reduce the light polluted horizon of a far off source of light.