DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Some thoughts about problems reported

xagoras

Reactions
I'm new to this wonderfull flying world. Never owned a drone before and the Mavic 2 Pro is my first experience with a flying machine. I've owned it for almost a month now and been flying almost daily still trying to figure out what I'm doing.

Reading the forums and watching videos has been very helpful and educating and tought me a lot of the Do's and Don'ts of flying a drone. I keep certain procedures before each and every flight, doublechecking things and keep in mind the drone's safety. Never had an issue with it.

I keep reading people's posts about the drone behaving strange in the air, refusing to land or take off, moving wildly, crashing, falling etc. It's very interesting to see how most are quick to blame the drone, but when the logs are analysed it turns out that in most cases a pilot error has occured, or a pre-flight check hasn't been made, or a calibration never took place etc.

My point here is that, although there surely is a small percentage of faulty machines that fall into warranty, I think that if people were a little bit more careful before and during their flights, most of these incidents would have never happened. This is a great hobby, and it's a shame to damage it's reputation be irresponsible behaviors that could lead to damage of property or people getting injured.

I'm by no means an expert on the matter, but sometimes a noobie can go through things that some experienced users don't, either out of over-confidence on their abilities or simply because they do them and consider them standard procedures.

So people, please do things right and your flight experience will get much better. Do the FW updates, do the calibrations, charge the batteries correctly, do the pre-flight checks and most of all fly in a safe manner for both your drone and the people around.