DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Stuck gimbal error (40002) DJI Mavic 2 air (something is broken)

tim 1993

Reactions
i really need some help
i’m trying to fix my drone dji mavic air 2

I bought the drone used ( they told me it workt fine )
the previous user told me that he did never take off the gimbal cover. I think that caused the problems i have right now.

i have a gimbal stuck error 40002
i can't calibrate my gimbal ( it fails at 10% )
i can’t control my camera

but when i turn on the drone the camera does move and the camera gives good image ( so u think the motor is fine ? )

I think there might be a broken cable? maybe the flex cable or signal cable? ( i’m not scared to fix it my self )
I also found a very small kink in the fex cable, can i start the drone without connecting the flex cable?
i don’t think dust or updating are the problems

I've been searching the internet for hours
and my girlfriend is angry because I bought it used ( we both paid half )

please help me ( from the netherlands
📷
)drone.jpeg

Attachments

• drone.jpeg
    drone.jpeg
    222.5 KB · Views: 5
When your drone starts-up, does the gimbal do its full dance by turning fully in each of its three axis?

With you drone powered off, can you gently move the camera easily in all three axis? You should feel very little resistance.

I googled the 40002 error and it came up with this

Though it's for a mini.
No guarantees a cable replacement will work.
If you try a DIY fix watch as many "teardown" / repair videos as you can find, some youtube repairers shouldn't be allowed near a ship let alone anything as delicate as a drone

Reactions: rickmurray1989
I know this may sound silly, but turn drone upside down and turn on. Take props off first.
Don’t start up motors but just let the gimbal go through its start up sequence.
Sometimes this will dislodge any debris or slight obstruction.