DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

The Mechanics of MP Video Settings - all you need to know...

Dr Dave

Reactions
After making a recent query to this forum, I went through the machinations of attempting to understand video setting with the Mavic Pro. You see, it's not enough to be simply able to fly the Mavic - if you want to capture footage - or take pictures - you need to know a little something about photography. I think I've got it figured out and wanted to share - no need for other Noobs to reinvent the wheel, ok?

First - a disclaimer: I am a noob here, but I do have some amateur photography experience - and I do have a relative who is a professional photographer and much of what I will state here has been vetted through him.

THE ESSENTIALS

Back in the days of emulsion based photography, you typically had 3 settings to consider:
  • Film speed (ASA or ISO) - a higher ASA or ISO means the film is more sensitive to light which has a number of ramifications. Say for example, in low light settings, you might need a fast film (high ASA/ISO) to take a shot.
    • A higher ASA/ISO typically resulted in a more "grainy" image
    • In digital photography, the sensor plate is the equivalent to the film emulsion, but can be dynamically adjusted rather than replacing a roll of film.
  • Shutter Speed - how much time the film is exposed, typically as a fraction of a second.
  • Aperture - a diaphragm which determines how much light hits the film. You will hear terms like "f/16" or "f/8". The higher the "f" setting - or "f" stop - the smaller the diaphragm and the less the light at any given exposure. The "f" stop settings can go from f/22 (smallest opening) to f/1.4 (largest opening).
  • The "f" stop settings are 22,16,11,8, 5.6, 4, 2.8, 2, 1.4
  • From one "f" setting to the next, the amount of light doubles going (ex from 16 to 11) or is halved (from 11 to 16).