DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Thread locker for prop screws.

wspike

Reactions
What is the best type of thread locker do you pilots use on your prop screws ?
I see that on the original new screws, that they use a solid chunk of thread lock so that hopefully it doesn’t bind the props.
Don’t know if I will ever need any thread lock at this time since
So far as a new pilot I seem to have a few new screws from the combo kit of my mavic mini but I can see at some point where the props may need to be removed and reattached.
Thanks for any input.

Spike854

you are supposed to use new screws when you replace any props they come with thread lock already and it is activated by the friction as the screw is being turned ,in the event you do have to reuse a screw, then you need to put the smallest amount on the screw so as it doesnt run into the motor where is could cause damage ,use a semi permanent type otherwise you will struggle to remove the screws as they are very small

Thanks for the info. What is the brand of thread locker to use. The only brand I know of is the blue locktite but that is a thin liquid that would not be what I would want to use unless I could just hardly get a dab on those tiny screws.
I plan on using new screws when ever I can.
I was just thinking of what to use if I ever came up with that situation.
Thank you.

Reactions: old man mavic
you are supposed to use new screws when you replace any props they come with thread lock already and it is activated by the friction as the screw is being turned ,in the event you do have to reuse a screw, then you need to put the smallest amount on the screw so as it doesnt run into the motor where is could cause damage ,use a semi permanent type otherwise you will struggle to remove the screws as they are very small
IMO, if one is using Locktite, the appropriate type is 242, the blue version. I use enough to moisten the tip of a toothpick, never more.