DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Tutorial: Workaround for mini SE subtitle problem

indigo141

Reactions
Hi, I’m new to the world of drones.

This thread is a continuation from here. Me and other mini se users are finding that the data provided in the subtitles of our recorded videos a lot more data than the telemetry. So much data that it covers the screen (Figure 1). This will surely be fixed, or has been fixed in an updated DJI Fly version. I use DJI Fly version 1.4.12, more recent versions have been unusable for me). Thanks to suggestions from Dronut I have been able to edit the sub titles to get the telemetry data to show on play back of video recordings.

1641280067085.png1641280139031.png
Figure 1a, b: Before and after subtitle editing
I've created this tutorial on how I am getting around the problem (I'm using VLC and can't even get subtitles to play on Windows Media player at the moment). This method is undesirable as it requires an internet connection, and silly as it uses a program to open and then export, which achieves something not understood by me. I welcome suggestions on how to improve upon this method, and hope to edit this tutorial with improvements. Hopefully DJI will put out a version of Fly that corrects this problem and I am able to use it (I'm using DJI Fly 1.4.12). I have had my first drone for a week, and have average computer skills.

Apps used:

Subtitle Extractor Subtitle Extractor for DJI Drones Free​
Excel​
Subtitle Edit – Described as free, Open source, very good but difficult for beginners​
Notepad – Far as I know comes with every version of Windows​

Steps

Step1.