DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

UAS Sightings - Really?

But it makes a much better story, than saying, ' I think I saw something out there, probably a few hundred feet away, and I couldn't tell what it was, but I think I saw something ', the truth would be boring, and so they embellished on the story.
Where did UFO come from?

Carl Sagan explains.

All of the stuff below is USA info that is yes, opinion sometimes.

I am a professional EDIT - Manned Aircraft - pilot of 20+ years of flying commercially. Pilots can and will use MSL and AGL altitudes all of the time.

Of course we almost always reference our altitude in terms of MSL. ATC and pilots would lose their minds if altitude was referenced as AGL on a normal bases. It's just not practical over varied terrain, So, nearly all ATC instructions and calls are given in MSL.

Yes, we say Above Ground Level and Above Sea Level. Maybe not as a love poem to each other, but we say those terms or similar often.

On a visual approach I will often say to the person next to me to "Altitude to 1,500 above, please". To us this means set the Altitude Selector (for warnings and flight directors etc) to 1,500 feet above the airport AGL but set as a MSL altitude. So yes, we as pilot can use both altitudes, both terms, within a few seconds.

The concept of a UAS pilot flying 400' above the mountain top near them making them higher than the valley next to them is of course possible. But this still is "low" compared to the safe altitude that a pilot would fly over that "mountain top" terrain. Normally the lowest AGL altitude that a pilot can fly in non congested areas is 500' (unless taking off and landing blah blah blah).

So....a drone at the wrong, higher than 400' AGL (or structure) is just plain dangerous, stupid and nearly always illegal.