DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Uploading Footage to Youtube UK

TotalExposure

Reactions
Hi all, just a quick question before I get started.
I am new to the drone club, I purchased my drone to take my photography and now videography to the next level.
My question is if you hypothetically make a video with the intention of just sharing your work with others and upload to YouTube do you require a PfCO?

Best regards

Based on what you have said - No ... It's when you start to use those video's to advertise the product/services of you or someone you know - then it gets into PfCO. In those cases, even if you don't take a fee, it can be argued that the footage is being used for 'commercial' purposes.

Reactions: TotalExposure
Based on what you have said - No ... It's when you start to use those video's to advertise the product/services of you or someone you know - then it gets into PfCO. In those cases, even if you don't take a fee, it can be argued that the footage is being used for 'commercial' purposes.

Oh ok, how about (I don’t know how it works) if youtube start playing adverts in your video and then pay you for that? I guess this might be a bit of a grey area as you are t being paid for the content just advertising?

I was hoping you wouldn't mention that (it came to mind as I wrote #2) ... I've never seen that aspect contested before - but if that's the case, we are all going to need PfCO! :eek:
I really don't think you are going to have any agency going into that depth of investigation ... But as you say, it's actually not your content that is generating the income, it's the 3rd party advertising generated by somebody else.

Oh ok, how about (I don’t know how it works) if youtube start playing adverts in your video and then pay you for that? I guess this might be a bit of a grey area as you are t being paid for the content just advertising?