DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Weather forecasting application for US pilots

UND_WxGuesser

Approved Vendor
Reactions
Hi all- I'm a professor/weather researcher at the University of North Dakota who also dabbles in the UAS space. One of the limitations we've seen with current forecasting applications is the lack of uncertainty in short-term forecasts and availability of both forecast and real-time data in one place. We received funding through the FAA ASSURE program and their partners to develop an open/free forecast platform for weather forecasts and I'm proud to introduce our platform in this post! For those of you who are in the US, I'd love to have you try it out. A brief overview of what the application provides and how to use it is below. Also- big thanks to the dronepilots team for clearing us to share this with you!

The application:
ASSURE UAS Forecast

The details:
When you first open the application, you enter a screen that looks like:
Screenshot 2024-08-01 at 13-27-41 ASSURE UAS Forecast.png
  1. Radar composite data comes from blended radar data provided by the National Severe Storms Laboratory. This will allow you to quickly see where precipitation is falling (but watch out in areas near mountains where radars can miss storms!).
  2. Active watches and warnings from the National Weather Service. If you double click on a point to make a forecast, it will show a hazard icon if you are inside of a hazard. Click this to get more details.
  3. METAR stations- standard surface weather observations typically located at airports. Temperature, dewpoint, pressure, and the wind barb are shown.
  4. mPING reports - crowdsourced observations by people reporting weather. This can help in areas where the precipitation is shallow or blocked by terrain and unseen by radar.