DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Worried

The idea of flying over open water was unnerving to say the least. I first did it with my P4, but after I got my MPP I was much less worried because I felt I still had another drone. Now that I’ve been flying for about 2 years I don’t worry about it at all. I pay attention to the wind ( use the UAV FORECAST app) and all the telemetry data to stay safe.
However it still was scary at first.

I’m late to the discussion, but I’d like to add to your info.

Since August this year, I’ve been flying a Mavic Pro Platinum. Using an IPad mini 4, and all the updates to IOS, and firmware.

I have 297 flights, over a distance of 2,073,000 ft, and 54 hours of flight time. Most flights are from my home in the country with huge forests all around, including my 15 acres. I’ve learned how to dodge trees. In all that flying I have used all of the intelligent flight modes and have taken hours of video.

I have had no crashes, and only one forced landing with only 5% battery remaining. I’ve learned that trees and other structures that are between you and the quad will always attenuate the signal, and your signal is the limiting factor. When there is a clear line of sight for the signal, the battery becomes the limitation.

I have a flight regimen that keeps me out of trouble.
  • Always take off with 100% charge.
  • Use precision take off with at least 11 satellites.
  • Land when the battery reaches 30%. Use both manual landing to hone your skills, and the RTH button to test the calibration of your quad.
  • Calibrate the IMU and compass every 20 to 30 flights.
  • Change the props every 200 flights. I use OEM props.
  • Never fly beyond a signal loss down to 3 bars for the control signal.
  • Never ignore a return to home warning thinking you’ve got lots of battery remaining.