DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Yikes !!!! you guys are scaring me

robwag

Reactions
Hi all, my son and I have been flying Phantom 4 pro plus each for about 2 years now and never had a single problem. Went out of range quite a few times but it just came home by itself till it was in range again and we carried on.
I have just sold one P4 and bought a new Mavic 2 Pro, mainly because it is much easier to transport and is seems to take good photos and video. Reading about all the Mavic crashes I am not so sure if I did the right thing now.
Robert

You did good in my book.. There are measures you put in place that reduces your chance of crashing, fly aways etc. There are NO guarantees that something may or may not crop up. But if you practice those measures you can fly many years with the same drone. Then their are things that are beyond your control. But all in all, you can fly your M2P and enjoy the hobby.

You only hear of the few bad experiences on here, against 1000s of flights that never have a problem
Especially in the Crash & Flyaway Assistance forum! There are similar sections in the PhantomPilots forum. As with any other precision equipment be sure to download the full User Manual and read and absorb the material. Then fly low and slow with your new aircraft until you are familiar with how it reacts to the controls. Be safe and have fun!

its really about undrstanding how your mav will respond in any given situation study the manual and adjust the flight settings to suit what you are doing during the flight,you already know how to fly a drone so concentrate on the differences between the phantom and the mav,,