DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Can you recommend a free cinematography app

Carb63

Premium Pilot
Reactions
Can you recommend a free cinematography app, I’m just starting out and before I purchase an app to do cinematography I would like to know if there is a recommended app that you Fellas and Gals use that is free for the moment?

What kind of cinematography app are you looking for?

I’m looking to film landscapes wildlife scenery and later on possibly real estate. I’ve watched a couple YouTube videos and seeing some apps that they use, but of course there’s a cost to it. I want to know if this something free to dabble in first before I commit to paying a monthly or yearly subscription. What can you recommend.?

You can use DJI GO 4 to film wildlife landscapes (or anything else). If you're asking about editing the video, you can find a list of commonly used video editors here.

Reactions: Carb63
I assume you're speaking of editing/encoding software. I recently tried OpenShot and it worked great. 100% free, open-source, plenty of features and export options.

You can use DJI GO 4 to film wildlife landscapes (or anything else). If you're asking about editing the video, you can find a list of commonly used video editors here.
Yes. I should’ve been more clear. Thank Msinger.

I use windows movie maker... its limited unless you pay the $39 upgrade then it works great, for me anyway

Thanks guys. This helps a lot. I will download both and toggle between each to see which works best for me. Totally appreciate it. Love this forum !! ????

IMHO - Davinci Resolve is hands down the best in that list of free, but also not as easy to work with. It is a pro tool so it comes with a learning curve.

I do a lot of ground based video for the local news channels and I would recommend DaVinci Resolve as well.