DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Infuriated over the focus settings

TheFunnyMan

Reactions
Before I got any DJI products I had 4 drones that were either toy level or wannabe phantom type products. Over the past 12 months I've had a P3 Advanced (flawless) a P3 Pro (had issues) and a P4 that was pretty nice except for some tilted horizon issues. I'm not an expert but not a novice either.

Yesterday I got my Mavic. I unboxed, charged everything up. Did IMU calibration and gimbal calibration. I also updated to latest firmware and made sure I have the latest update for DJI GO 4 on IOS. Today I gave it a try. Video isn't even close to usable because of the out of box focus settings. I'm sitting here wondering how, in my many hours of reading on this forum and looking at youtube videos, i never saw anything that says "Mavic video totally useless out of the box"

It was shockingly out of focus. I had it around 8 feet off the ground and 10 feet away from myself and could not make out any details at all - not even the giant "CAVS" logo on my sweatshirt. After playing with a bunch of settings I sort of got it so I could tell there was a human shaped object in front of the camera. Once I got the video on my computer in the house the part where I thought I had it 'working' was actually a 1 minute video of the camera going in and out of focus every 1-2 seconds.

I didn't mean for this post to become just a rant like this so I guess I'll ask an actual question. Is there any way to make this like the P4, P3P, P3A, P3S, etc, etc where you turn the device on, fly it around and record usable video or do you ALWAYS have to keep changing focus settings as you fly?

Well... I have to disagree. Though it's not perfect once in a while I've had to center focus using shortcut button under remote. But for the most part I don't have to.