DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

iPad mini 3 crap video

andydownunder

Reactions
Hello all. New here. Sorry if I am starting a repetitive thread but couldn’t seem to find an answer to my problem. I am a newbie Mavic Pro owner. I have flown about a half dozen times using my Iphone8 and it works well. However, I wanted a larger screen to view from so I purchased a used iPad mini 3. Problem is when I am shooting video while flying it freezes up which destroys the footage. May have to go back to my mobile phone unless it’s a simple setting change? Is it because it only has 1gb of ram?

Last edited:
Reactions: fotogeek
However, I wanted a larger screen to view from so I purchased a used iPad mini 3. Problem is when I am shooting video while flying it freezes up which destroys the footage. May have to go back to my mobile phone unless it’s a simple setting change? Is it because it only has 1gb of ram?

Are you talking about the video coming off the SD card or only what is on your iPad? I suspect you're not talking about the video on your SD card. If you're speaking of the video on your device, then you're not talking about the actual recorded video quality but rather transmission quality. The original, high quality video will still be on your SD card (on the Mavic). You either need to take that out and look at it or download the higher quality video to your device (you may also have issues playing 4K video and such on lower quality/older devices).

What you're likely referring to is the quality of video that is transmitted to your device. That can result from 2 issues: 1) either the video going between the remote control and the Mavic or 2) the video going between the RC and the device (iPad).