DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Looking for a Pro2 teacher in Charlotte NC

jazzcat1

Premium Pilot
Reactions
I’ve been a fine art photographer for many years <www.Davidpalmerimages.com> and recently decided to upgrade my skill set by purchasing my first drone: Mavic Pro2. I’m beginning at ground zero and have no experience with drones…I’m trying to locate someone in the Charlotte area who could teach me how to use my particular Mavic…

Welcome to the forum! :)

Welcome to Mavic Pilots!

WELCOME to the forum from the western edge of NC (Blue Ridge Mountains).

There are a good deal of members on this forum in your general vicinity but if you get up to western NC let me know and I'll be glad to get some stick time in with you.

Here are a couple of FB groups where you might find some local assistance:
NORTH CAROLINA Drone Club

NORTH CAROLINA DRONES & PHOTOGRAPHY

It's imperative you understand that LEGAL requirements of UAS/Drones.

Recreational Drone Operators must take the TRUST

Any flight that is not 100% Recreational requires you to have your Part 107 license.

Any Drone/UAS weighing more than 249gr (yours does) must be registered with the FAA. If it's flown for anything other than Recreational it must be registered on the COMMERCIAL side of the FAA Registration Portal. Go ahead and register Commercial because that registration is good for Commercial and Recreational use. Make sure you ONLY register at the link below because that are some "sketchy" websites that offer "additional services for a fee" that you do NOT need.
FAA Drone Zone

In the state of NC you also must take and pass the NC DOT Aviation Division Commercial Drone Permit. Take this after you get your Part 107 because it pretty much mirrors Part 107.
NC DOT Aviation Division
NCDOT: Unmanned Aircraft Systems