DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

MAVIC DID NOT RESPOND TO RETURN TO HOME COMMAND

jerryflah

Reactions
Today after an uneventful flight, my MP did not alter its hover after I hit the RTH button. The controller "beeped" indicating that it had gotten my input but the bird remained motionless 100+ meters up and another 100+ meters distant.
It responded positively my subsequent stick movements but when I hit RTH a second and a third time after awaiting some corresponding movement, I brought it home manually without an Issue.
Maybe I'm misunderstanding the take off and hover procedure allowing the sensors/cameras time to get positioning.
I'll appreciate any helpful input.
Thanks JerryF

So I am no expert but the only thing I can think that may have caused this is that the drone didn't mark it's home point when taking off. This could be caused by not having enough sufficient time to mark it in it's gps. A good tip I learned is that when you take off allow the drone about 5 seconds to hover and get a good marking of where it took off or when the rear green light stops flashing. Would love to hear some more ideas about this.

forgive me if this is stupid / obvious question, but did you pressed or press and hold the button.
Remember that only by pressing and holding the button it will trigger the RTH, you can also trigger the RTH from the App.

So I am no expert but the only thing I can think that may have caused this is that the drone didn't mark it's home point when taking off. This could be caused by not having enough sufficient time to mark it in it's gps. A good tip I learned is that when you take off allow the drone about 5 seconds to hover and get a good marking of where it took off or when the rear green light stops flashing. Would love to hear some more ideas about this.

yes I agree. I always do that after taking off.

Hover for about 5 to 10 sec and manually trigger the RTH home location.