DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Minor crash with Mavic and now concerned about Gimbal

Joey

Reactions
Hey everyone, I am a new pilot and received my Mavic just before Christmas for fun and work (Real Estate). I have flown a handful of times(haven't had ideal weather here in Cincinnati) including photographing a few properties and have been blown away with results. SO, last week I calibrated the compass in the street out front of a property and noticed that during filming, the drone was swaying a bit, dropping in altitude, just not acting right. It ended up barely skimming a lamp post which triggered me to attempt to grab it and push it to ground (was literally moving on it's own)... escaped that with an undamaged drone and numerous bruises on my hand - not smart but I was freaking out that it was going to crash. Anyway, I did research and made an effort to calibrate in a field with no phones, watches etc. when I filmed a property yesterday. Everything seemed to be going great but then towards the end of taking photos, the drone went sideways into a tree limb, broke one propeller and dropped upside down to grass below (roughly 10'). It kept running.... propellers going crazy while upside down and it wouldn't stop regardless of what I pushed on remote - I flipped it over and pushed the on/off button on battery and it stopped(avoided my fingers this time). Other than broken propeller, it looked fine.. I replaced the propeller and sent it back up just to see how it was flying - all seemed fine. Well I started to become paranoid that something is wrong inside of the drone and then noticed that the gimbal is hanging by four rubber bands and I have no idea if this is how it was prior. There is a little piece of plastic behind the gimbal that appears broken, but again, I have no idea just how lose/free the gimbal should be hanging. I don't know anyone in the area with a Mavic, otherwise I would just compare. While thi