DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Nervous Novice, Scared of Heights!

cojobt

Reactions
Hi,

I'm a novice drone owner. I've had the Mavic Pro for a few weeks, but already had to send off for a refresh as I flew too close to a tree branch and damaged the gimbal motor...so after one hour's flight I had to wait another 5 weeks for its replacement.

Since then I've been flying on beaches in good weather (rare here in Ireland...good weather, not beaches). I've become more confident with sending the Mavic off into the distance, and have really enjoyed trying to master a few manoeuvres, but I'm very anxious about flying high.

The highest I have flown so far is 30m high. Wind was about 9 mph. I was flying over a deserted beach and sand dunes, keeping away from the water.

I've tried to reassure myself that the Mavic is designed and tested for flight at much greater heights, up to 100m within regulations, but I get very nervous when I let it go about 20m high. I begin to panic a little when I have to use the screen to see it, rather than keep an eye on it.

Has anyone got any advice for me which might help me break past the 30m glass ceiling I've created for myself?

Reactions: xtekian
I understand where you're coming from. For me it was very difficult not to fly my Mavic without looking at it coming from flying helicopters.

I kept reading about all these flights that I am missing out on because I was not using my screen to my advantage. I am glad I can fly without using the screen but you are short changing yourself if you never use it.

I just started flying around the house keeping it close to home while looking at the screen the whole time. Before long you will actually feel more comfortable being up 200 feet or so because you no longer have to worry about running into anything.

Now it's more nerve racking dropping down below the tree tops to get close in shots.