DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

newbie tips on takeoff/landing, CSC, litchi & paranoia pls!

rarara

Reactions
hi all

self confessed newbie here w/ 1 wk old mavic & 4 flights to my name - all beginner mode, above land, open paddock, not too high or far - familiarising myself with the drone & controls. i've read the manual, watched multitudes of videos (from DJI's official tutorials to Joe Bloggs vlog on youtube) and now have a couple questions for you OG's:

1) i've exclusively been using the auto take off/landing via app. is there any advantage to taking off/landing manually? should i start making manual takeoff/landing a habit?

2) i read about CSC mode - L & R sticks down to center cuts off motors mid-flight. whats chances this will happen unintentionally in flight? just say im trying to decrease altitude whilst flying backwards ...will it kick in? are there any other (deadly) stick combos i need to be aware of?

3) I've seen & read various warnings about flying over water or close to metal bridges or between buildings/hills/trees etc as the drone may start doing weird things like flying itself then crashing. but then i've seen many videos shot above water, near metal bridges, between buildings etc that all look great!!?. what gives? what am i missing? living on the coast I want to do alot of shooting off the beach but getting so paranoid!

4) are there any other things i (or any other new, inexperienced mavic owners) should be aware of and should NOT do?

5) are there any things I should ALWAYS do?

6) lastly, I've been seeing this Litchi App mentioned alot. Apart from mapping a flight, are there alot more advantages? Is it 100% stable? Is drone still covered by DJI if something happens whilst using Litchi?

if you got to the end, thanks for reading and hopefully you can give me some advice. look fwd to taking it out this weekend for a 'proper' flight

hi all