DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Recreational vs Commercial Airspace Question

rvandersteen

Reactions
I'm new to drones (2 weeks) and want to ensure I'm flying by the rules. I've been using the Airmap resource to help identify nearby airports, and NFZ, etc. I've noticed that as a hobbyist, it appears that you can fly in class C airspace and only have to nofity the airport. Whereas as a commercial pilot, who has their 107 license, you need to get an authorization to fly in class C airspace (within 5 miles). Is that accurate? Doesthe hobbyist pilot have less restrictions to fly in class C airspace that the commercial 107 pilot (notify vs authorization?

You have to inform all airports w/i 5 miles that are not class C, D and where E extends to the ground. (As I understand it). For C and D you need permission.

If you call the class C controller you need to describe precisely what you want to do. He can deny your request or restrict you (lower altitude for example). Or approve. At least one class D tower is telling people to not call for permission and to go through the site below even though that does not apply to non 107 pilots (AFAICT). Anyone?

Part 107 operators need to go through Request a Waiver/Airspace Authorization – Small Unmanned Aircraft System (sUAS) to get exceptions.

If you are in an area that is Class B, C, D, or E at the surface, you cannot fly without approval from Air Traffic Control. This applies to both hobby and commercial flyers. The difference between hobby and commercial comes in when you are not in B, C, D or E at the surface airspace but are within 5 miles of an airport (or helipad or seaplane base). Hobby fliers need to call and notify those airports, commercial flyers do not.

Commercial flyers can also request waivers from the controlled airspace designations but these have to be submitted well in advance.