DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Video Lag problems

Larrydula

Reactions
I am new to the drone world and just purchased a Mavic Air. Here is the problem, when I shoot video it looks good on the Samsung phone attached to the remote with only a flicker every once in a while but when I put the card in my computer to play it there is a terrible video lag that makes a huge blur and it seems to be the worst when I move the drone in any direction. I have tried different resolutions and am using a high-speed Samsung Micro SD card rated at 100KPS speed. Any help would be appreciated

Larry

There has been a lot of discussion on this. I can not recall most of it, BUT I do know, that it takes a pretty powerful computer to work with HD 4K video. Most off the shelf desktops and laptops cannot handle the job.

OK, thanks. I thought that might be the problem but wanted to rule out the drone itself. I have only tried it on my HP laptop but will try it on my desktop which has a pretty good graphics card. That is when the tree climber comes tomorrow to get it down from a tall pine tree in my driveway. I have to remember not to hit the go home key when it is flying low. Oh well, rookie mistake. Thanks for the reply.

Even in 1080p 30fps, I get 'motion blur' on playback yet when I freeze the playback, frame is sharp. Happened on a few PCs. I guess typical graphics cards can't handle smooth motion for these codecs.

Even in 1080p 30fps, I get 'motion blur' on playback yet when I freeze the playback, frame is sharp. Happened on a few PCs. I guess typical graphics cards can't handle smooth motion for these codecs.
4K is quite a bit more complex than 1080P. It requires huge amounts of processing power. Not present in many sub $1250 computers.

4K is quite a bit more complex than 1080P. It requires huge amounts of processing power. Not present in many sub $1250 computers.