DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

VLOS Clarification

JMagnus

Reactions
I'm totally new to this and am confused. On another forum I saw a flight log in which the pilot flew his drone 4800 feet away from home. I have old eyes. I have trouble seeing my drone when it's only several hundred feet away. How can this pilot have been flying under VLOS rules? Using a spotter with binoculars or what? Thanks.

Reactions: old man mavic
I'm totally new to this and am confused. On another forum I saw a flight log in which the pilot flew his drone 4800 feet away from home. I have old eyes. I have trouble seeing my drone when it's only several hundred feet away. How can this pilot have been flying under VLOS rules? Using a spotter with binoculars or what? Thanks.
if he had a spotter ok if not then you already know the answer

Depends where he was flying and what licenses/waivers (if any) he may have had. VLOS is not a requirement for drones in some legal jurisdictions and is absolutely required in others. Likewise, some countries are OK with the use of spotters and the use of binoculars, etc., others are not.

In the US, under both recreational and Part 107, VLOS is defined as without vision aids such as binoculars. At 4800 ft he was well outside VLOS, and outside the law unless he had a Part 107 waiver or some other allowance via a COA.

I have trouble keeping a VLOS myself so I went with these Firehouse strobes and I really like them. They help even in the middle of the day. The white strobe I mounted on top back body and placed red and green on the front arms using the brackets Firehouse sales. I have had the lights about a month and so far I am extreamly satisfied.
drone dji strobe lights spot lights

Reactions: JMagnus