DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Why does an IMU need to warm up?

jimheid

Reactions
This is a "I'm curious to know what's going on under the hood" question, not a problem report.

I'm writing some stuff about the Mavic Pro and would love to include some technical details on what's happening during IMU warmup. Does the IMU actually need to be at a prescribed temperature to work reliably? Does it have a tiny heater inside? A set of vacuum tubes, perhaps? (Kidding about that last part.)

Thanks in advance to anyone willing to share some geeky details.

I'm not an electronics engineer but yes, I believe that IMUs do have a temperature range within which they function most accurately.

From Wikipedia, Inertial measurement unit - Wikipedia "- environment sensitivity: mainly sensitivity to thermal gradients and accelerations."

There wouldn't need to be a heater of any kind though, as even solid state electronics warm naturally when functioning. Thus, the need for a fan on the Mavic to carry away the excess heat.

Others can give more precise details, or correct me if I am wrong, but this is the way I understand it.

Reactions: jimheid
My understanding from looking at csview is that, looking at the IMU temperature parameter which is recorded, it's very tightly controlled during operation so the output must be quite highly temperature dependent. I also don't know the physical reason for the temperature dependency and would be interested to know.

This is a "I'm curious to know what's going on under the hood" question, not a problem report.

I'm writing some stuff about the Mavic Pro and would love to include some technical details on what's happening during IMU warmup. Does the IMU actually need to be at a prescribed temperature to work reliably? Does it have a tiny heater inside? A set of vacuum tubes, perhaps? (Kidding about that last part.)