DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

A lot of online footage seems to be shot in restricted areas, are people ignoring restrictions?

MMCompton

Reactions
Hello,
I'm a new pilot and love the Mavic Pro. I notice a lot of drone footage that's online seems to be from restricted areas, yet people are flying there anyway.

For example, I'm watching a tutorial involving drone footage shot in Provincetown on Cape Cod. According to Airmap, all of Provincetown (and most of the Cape) is restricted airspace, and yet this guy was flying all over the place. Are pilots like these simply ignoring the rules, or are they able to get waivers for these types of flights?

Thanks!

You can get waivers for certain areas but what does it matter?

If you know the rules, it's up to you whether or not you want to follow them or not.

Be safe.

Oh sheesh....

Reactions: Lapcat and Flashcot
As I’m concerned, you can fly wherever the heck you want, whenever the heck you want.....

.....Just be prepared to pay the consequences.

Here in Texas, there is drama I don't want to deal with to be able to fly in Texas State Parks. It is either outright banned or heavily restricted - things I don't want to have to deal with for my hobby. To get around that, I flew the perimeter of a State Park yesterday getting great footage of the interior of the park. In this instance, I got better footage than if I was actually inside.

I personally don't condone flying in restricted areas, unless of course it is done with permission, but skirting the rules is no problem unless it leads to further restrictions on UAV use. Also, I'm personally trying to find the right balance of my desire to fly when and where I decide, safety, privacy and flying a way that doesn't lead to more restrictions. In other words, I want to push the boundaries without getting push back.

Reactions: MMCompton