DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Accuracy of NRC drone site selection tool

kingjon

Reactions
I am getting conflicting information from the DJI fly app and the NRC selection tool. Selection tool and airmap are identical and show me close to 10km outside of any controlled air space. The DJI app was indicating I was in a controlled zone with 150m height limit. Airsense also warned me of manned aircraft. I did see one passenger aircraft but it was several thousand feet high and a few km north of me. Just want to do my due diligence before I fly here. How accurate is the NRC tool and how would I verify accuracy?

I do have all the zone warnings set to on in the DJI app. Maybe some of them are not regulatory requirements. I have no problem staying under 150m but can't fly in controlled air space with basic operations.

Thank you - I am new at this.

As long as you observe the max.height AGL for Canada(150 m in the DJI Ssoftware sounds a little high...no?),I would probably default to the Canadian site for controlled flight zones.You may even take a screen shot of the map before your flight in case there is a perceived error in allowable flight zones you are in.
The way I see it,if the Government gives us a utility to use in flying safely,I would put the onus on them to verify it's accuracy. Third parties such as DJI may not follow the same guidelines,and variances may occur.

Last edited: